Bobby March will live forever by Alan Parks

The Blurb

WHO IS TO BLAME WHEN NO ONE IS INNOCENT? 

There’s a heatwave in Glasgow and the drugs trade is booming. The whole force is searching for missing thirteen-year-old Alice Kelly. All except Harry McCoy, who has been taken off the case after a run-in with the boss, and is instead sent alone to investigate the death of rock-star Bobby March, who has just overdosed in the Royal Stuart hotel.

 The papers want blood. The force wants results. McCoy has a hunch. But does he have enough time?

 

 Themes include inner-city poverty, gang warfare, the rise and fall of rock & roll stardom, illegal narcotics distribution and the growth of the IRA, seen through the eyes of his good-cop-in-a-gray-world, Detective Harry McCoy. 
 Will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Denise Mina, Peter May, William McIlvanney and 
Val McDermid, as well as TV series such as Idris Elba’s Luther

The Author

Alan Parks has worked in the music industry for over twenty years. His debut novel Bloody January was shortlisted for the Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. He lives and works in Glasgow.

The Review

This is set in the grim, dark world of 1970’s policing. It’s a graphic novel in that it’s very honest about not just police work at the time, but life in the time and place it’s set.

I devoured it because I’m a fan of authors who don’t shy away from the realities of the time they write in. It’s compelling and the characters are jumping from the pages to drag you into their world. I for one gladly went.

I really enjoyed this book and devoured it pretty quickly. I’m looking forward to reading the April Dead!

Thanks to Anne Cater, the Author and publisher for the advanced reading copy of this book.

Published by Books’n’banter


Hi and welcome to my new blog. I’m reading and reviewing the books I read, after a long break I realised just how much I missed reviewing. I’ve been a voracious reader since childhood and I don’t imagine that changing. 
If you would like me to read and review a book you’re bringing out, please feel free to contact me. If it’s not my type of book I won’t waste your time by agreeing. I don’t promise 5 star reviews, and I know authors do appreciate feedback , but I can only promise an honest review. 
 Genres I love include crime, thriller, tartan noir is a stand out favourite. I do also enjoy horror, and other fiction/non fiction as they take my fancy. 
Please feel free to tell me if you have any recommendations for books to read whether they are already out or just about to. Reviews will be published on Twitter and Goodreads. Contact me here on the blog or email me at booksnbanter1@gmail.com 
Many thanks 
for visiting! Angi 





2 thoughts on “Bobby March will live forever by Alan Parks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: